Monitor Audio Gold 100 Standmount Speaker Review & Comments

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Speakers' started by Phil Hinton, Feb 8, 2019.

1. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +3,874
    2. Jules

Jules

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +1,134
      Its been 20 years or so since I studied audio engineering, but if my memory serves me well the larger radiating area of the tweeter will reduce the size of the dispersion pattern (the two are inversely proportional), making the sweet spot narrow?

Some manufacturers like to put waveguides in front of their tweeters (e.g. KEF) to help, so I can't help feeling this design from Monitor Audio with a pretty large, unconventional tweeter will need very careful placement.

3. Abacus

Abacus

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +423
      Nice Review, but you forgot to emphasize that most of the new Gold series have a nominal impedance of 4 ohms, (Rather than the usual 6 or 8 ohms) which will cause problems for a lot of amplifiers when pushed, as unless you really spend the money the power supplies in a lot of amplifiers fall short of what is needed.

Bill

4. Jules

Jules

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +1,134
      I've always considered the impedance ratings of speakers to be rather meaningless, since its a number they measure at 1Khz. A poorly designed speaker may be 8Ohms at 1Khz, but have an impedance that fluctuates all over the place above and below that frequency... maybe down to 2Ohms or less.

It might say 4 Ohms, but it could be a much easier load on your amplifier than a speaker that's rated at 8 Ohms in the spec sheet.

5. Goodmane

Goodmane

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +139